Monochromatic Shades

Latte Art and coffee school

I found a coupon to learn Barista skills for really cheap. So I thought, ‘Why not?’ considering I have plans to have my own little cafe sometime in the future. The course was being run by The Australian Coffee school and they had some special offer to learn latte art and get accredited if you bought the coupon for Barista skills. So I took it up. I spent the entire day at the coffee school and enjoyed every moment of it. I knew very little about latte art (watched a couple of youtube videos) and knew a little about milk frothing technique which I learnt on the job as a sales demonstrator for a fancy coffee machine but I learnt so much more with this course and got a fancy looking certificate that says that I am qualified to be a fancy barista and get a fancy barista job in your around the corner fancy looking cafe. I feel so fancy when I say that!!!

Anyway the barista skills course was about history of coffee, how it started, how its made, how it goes from red berries to blackened beans, the aroma, how to store, how to grind, different types of glasses and cups blah blah blah and much more. Now the interesting part… The course also covered different coffees served starting with the simple Espresso,Long blacks, Macchiato, Latte macchiato, Babyccino, Flat white, Latte, Cappuccino, Mocha and even Hot chocolate.

Then the latte art course covered free pour techniques, presentation styles and yes we also made some hearts and leaves (called rosettes-I guess).

Here are a couple of pictures of the latte art I made, various coffees etc.

 

 

I was so obsessed with getting the hearts and leaves right that I forgot to take pictures of those. Anyway I think I need more practice with those considering my hearts go all wrong when I get the leaves right and the leaves go all wrong when I get the hearts right.

2 comments on “Latte Art and coffee school

  1. latte vs espresso
    September 22, 2012

    Have you contemplated sprucing up the style and design just a little?

    Seems to be quite boring, not that this is a very bad thing.

    Just simply a idea.

    • monochromaticshades
      September 22, 2012

      It’s a great idea and I would love to work on that but unfortunately I don’t have access to a machine. According to the post, this was just a 3 hour latte class which I happened to do for the first time. But I sure will try making some more and something different as soon as I can get myself a machine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2012 by in Personal.
