Monochromatic Shades

Kumara Soup

I’ve started this new thing called a soup diet, not because I want to lose weight (well maybe just a little bit!!) but also because I bought this new recipe book with soup recipes and I love soup and I wanted to try them out. Also while I cook, I usually keep adding ingredients that I think will work well so the recipe here is not exactly what it is in the book.

Also I made my own chicken stock at home and trust me it is super easy!!! So here goes my first soup recipe:

Ingredients:

2 medium kumara (sweet potato) roughly chopped

1 medium carrot

1 tomato

1 large brown onion roughly chopped

2 cloves of garlic, quatered

1/2 tsp grated ginger

1 and 1/2 sprig of rosemary, roughly chopped

5-6 basil leaves

finely grated rind of 1/2 lemon

1 tsp crushed pepper

2 cups of stock (vegetable/chicken)

2 cups of water

1 tbsp lemon juice

1/2 cup cream (i used low fat and only a little for garnish.)

Method:

Heat oil in large pot, add kumara, carrot, tomato, onions, garlic and ginger. keep stiring for about 10 minutes.

Add rosemary, basil leaves, lemon rind, pepper and stir it for another minute. Now add the stock and water and bring it to a boil. Cover. Reduce heat and let it simmer for 10-15 minutes or untill the kumara is soft.

Cool it for about 15 minutes and then transfer into a blender / food processor. blend till soup is smooth. Return to the same pot on medium heat.

Add lemon juice and stir until hot.

Serve bowls of soup drizzled with cream accompanied with sourdough. (I didnt have sourdough so I used toasted wholemeal bread)

If you’ve tried it and love it, leave me a comment below.

Spread the yummies!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 7, 2012 by in Recipes, Soups, Salads & Sandwiches, Vegetarian and tagged , , .
