Monochromatic Shades

Applause for Red Salt – Hunter Valley

Hello lovelies!!

Im doing my first proper restaurant review post and it is my pleasure to do it for Red Salt at Hunter Valley. For starters, I’ve always been sceptical about fine dining and all because far as I knew, fine dining was a rip off because they left you starving for more and took away all your money. Not anymore. Red Salt has changed me… probably that didnt work out too well for my boyfriend!!

Last Friday was a very special day… It was my very Happy Birthday! Yay for me!! And Abhineet had planned to take me out on a drive to Hunter Valley over the weekend. So he booked a beautiful room at the Crowne Plaza and that night we celebrated at the Red Salt (A very good suggestion by one of my foodie friend).

We started with entrees which was a warm lobster salad with poached quails egg and black truffle dressing and needless to say, it was beautiful with all the flavours exploding in your mouth. Then for mains, I had a butterflied spatchcock marinated with sumac and lemon with Anchovy butter while Abhineet had his usual manly steak with pepper sauce. The spatchcock was yummy but I grew sick of it half way. The steak on the other hand was to die for. Also my foodie friend suggested we try the salmon at Red Salt and by that im guessing he meant the Salmon Wellington. I wish I could try that but I had to save myself some space for dessert!!!

Now the food was excellent and I was starving so I completely forgot to take pictures to share with you all and I apologize for that. But I did manage to grab photos of the dessert.

On the left we have Vanilla Bean Pannacotta with poached Rhubarb and pistachio tuille biscuit which is the best Pannacotta I’ve ever had and on the right was Abhineet’s Botrytis Semillon poached pear with chestnut cream and nut brittle.

So in all, the ambience was beautiful and simple. The staff was warm and friendly. The food was great and great money value too. Perfect for those special dinner dates! These guys get a double thumbs up from me and no Im not being very generous…they deserved it.

And great job Abhineet… You made me super happy!!

 

Click here to find out more and make a booking at the Red Salt and share your experience in the comment section below. 😀

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2012 by in Personal, Restaurant Reviews.
