Monochromatic Shades

Steamed green Basa with jeera rice

I had some basa lying around in my freezer and I didn’t know what to do with them. Just for the record, I don’t quite like Basa because it has a very neutral taste and adding salt and pepper with some lemon doesn’t do much to it. I consider buying Basa only when Im feeling poor or have decided to follow some sort of weight loss diet (Hardly!). Anyway, my flatmate had bought 3 fillets and I took it upon myself as a challenge to not give in to tasteless boring salt and pepper and I will make Basa super yummy. So I invented this dish.

 

Ingredients:

3 fillets of Basa

lemon wedges to serve

boiled rice to serve

2 banana leaves

for spice rub:

5 cloves

1/2 tsp pepper

1 tbsp cumin seeds (jeera)

2 small bay leaves

salt to taste

for marination:

1 large bunch of coriander leaves

1/2 in ginger

6 garlic cloves

1 tbsp coconut milk powder.

2-3 tbsp water

 

Method:

Wash and dry banana leaves

In a small pan on medium heat, add pepper, cumin seeds, cloves and then bay leaves for dry roasting. do not burn the spices. When they will change colour, take them off heat and keep aside to cool.

Once cool, grind them with salt to a fine powder. (I used a mortar and pestle for this.)

Rub this on the fillets on both sides and let it sit for 10-15 minutes.

In the meantime, make the paste for marination by grinding coriander leaves, ginger, garlic, coconut powder and water. It doesnt need to be a really fine paste.

Heat some water in a steamer and let it come to a boil.

Lay your banana leaves, add the fillets with the spice rub and now add the marinade  and wrap them up. You could use a cling wrap to hold the fillets in the banana leaves like I did.

Steam the fillets for 20-25 minutes in the steamer.

remove it from the banana leaves and serve with some rice and a lemon wedge.

 

If you’ve tried this recipe, leave me a comment and let me know if you liked it.

Spread the yummies!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 28, 2012 by in Recipes, Seafood.
